Legislative Assembly for the ACT's entrance

Legislative Assembly for the ACT

ID: 56b23b17b042386245d42a88

Canberra City, Australian Capital Territory

Attraction IconAttraction
196 London Circuit,
Canberra City,
Australian Capital Territory

The ACT Legislative Assembly is Australia's youngest legislature. From 1938, when the ACT was officially formed, until 1989, Canberra was administered by the Federal Government. Now Canberra residents elect their own assembly of 25 members. They're the only Australian parliament responsible for both territory and local government functions, including health, education, economic development and tourism. Join a free public tour of the Assembly building, Tours run on Wednesdays at 1pm from the Assembly foyer and offer an insight into the history of self-government in the ACT. Experience the gravitas of the chamber, visit committee rooms, and see items of the Assembly's locally significant art collection. On sitting Wednesdays, you can stay to watch question time at 2pm. Bookings are not required for individuals/ small groups. Contact them for dedicated tours for medium/large groups....

Product Types

  • Galleries, Museums and Collections
  • Historical Sites and Heritage Locations

Facilities found here

  • Conference/Convention Facilities
  • Enquiry Desk
  • Non Smoking
  • Parents Room

Accessibility Information

  • Disabled access available, contact operator for details.

Back To Search

Mace and law books
Legislative Assembly for the ACT entrance on Civic Square